Page 6 of 8

Re: ChaosUT issues

Posted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:01 pm
by OjitroC
EvilGrins wrote: In this pic I'm attaching, that Titan walked right through the vortex and was only slowed down by it a bit; it was sucked into it but it pulled itself out.
I would think that is pretty unusual - I tried it against a UTDMT eight or nine times and, almost invariably, the Titan was sucked in and pulped. Did the same with a Queen with the same result. There's a comment in the code for the Vortex (projectile) that says it sucks "(almost) everything" in, so there will be instances when it won't depending, I suppose, on the size, mass, health and distance from the vortex of the monster/object.

Re: ChaosUT issues

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2017 5:31 am
by EvilGrins
I'm not saying a UTDMT can't be killed by a vortex, I surprised one that was low on health and ducked around a corner...

Re: ChaosUT issues

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2017 11:50 pm
by OjitroC
EvilGrins wrote: Also somewhat annoying after using Vortex I can't use any other weapons unless I drop it first, normal switching doesn't work.
I've come across that issue as well now several times - may be after trying to use the VortexArm while a Vortex is active or map related?

Re: ChaosUT issues

Posted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:03 am
by EvilGrins
As we are talking about the vortex anyway, this isn't an issue so much as a curiosity, I was wondering.

Vortex is a one-hand weapon. So, what is that thing on the left when I switch from the vortex to any other weapon?

Re: ChaosUT issues

Posted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:12 am
by papercoffee
EvilGrins wrote:As we are talking about the vortex anyway, this isn't an issue so much as a curiosity, I was wondering.

Vortex is a one-hand weapon. So, what is that thing on the left when I switch from the vortex to any other weapon?
haaand.png

Re: ChaosUT issues

Posted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 7:57 am
by EvilGrins
Thanks paper!

One more thing about the vortex... why can I only launch 1 at a time?

There's an actual warning message that pops up that says you can't launch a vortex as there's already an active one, and it's not always me. If I'm doing a team game, I can't launch a vortex until whatever vortex someone else on my team launched ends.

Is there a way to disable that??

Re: ChaosUT issues

Posted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:50 pm
by OjitroC
EvilGrins wrote:One more thing about the vortex... why can I only launch 1 at a time? ..... If I'm doing a team game, I can't launch a vortex until whatever vortex someone else on my team launched ends.
Is there a way to disable that??
Not without rewriting it, I think. It would, perhaps, be rather too chaotic to have multiple vortices active at the same time, especially in close proximity.

Re: ChaosUT issues

Posted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 4:02 pm
by sektor2111
Little logic triggering...
What if in a game with 16 players and the map... something small... everyone will deliver a vortex ?
What the purpose of such a mess ? Any other proposal more challenging ? :noidea
I thought that name of topic is "ChaosUT issues" - this is OFF topic because I don't see it as an issue except a logic issue of player in understanding hard-coded RULES.
Edit: Back on topic
Perhaps we need some "Editing Support" toward that ammo placement according to Chaos type crapped fascinating collisions. Some builder to adjust all ammo collisions according to "Chaos Mapping" rules for preventing delivering a mess at ammo chapter or... a small tiny little mutator for operating some cheap hacks on purpose to bring Chaos playable in all stock maps ? Eh ?

Oh, wait, ignore me, it's only page no. 6...

Re: ChaosUT issues

Posted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 4:19 pm
by papercoffee
sektor2111 wrote:Little logic triggering...
What if in a game with 16 players and the map... something small... everyone will deliver a vortex ?
What the purpose of such a mess ? Any other proposal more challenging ? :noidea
Because this mod is called CHAOS?
But yes, you are right. This would be just overload. I mean it's already too much to place more than two turrets in CTF.
sektor2111 wrote: Oh wait, ignore me it's only page no. 6...
You can resist the call of the silly comments. :mrgreen:

Re: ChaosUT issues

Posted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 5:33 pm
by OjitroC
papercoffee wrote:I mean it's already too much to place more than two turrets in CTF.
You can limit the number of turrets active at any one time.
sektor2111 wrote: ... a small tiny little mutator for operating some cheap hacks on purpose to bring Chaos playable in all stock maps ? Eh ?
Perhaps it could check the Z LocationOffset of all Chaos ammo placed in a map or spawned as a replacement and, if the Z LocationOffset was negative (-30 in the case of the arrow packs and -25 in the case of the UtilityGun ammo), set it to 0? The same with the TurretLauncher as this is often buried in the floor (haven't checked the Z LocationOffset of that).

Re: ChaosUT issues

Posted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:57 pm
by sektor2111
Basically anyone interested in a bit of coding can do something like this:

Code: Select all

class EhChaos expands Mutator;

event PreBeginPlay()
{
	SetChaosEverywhere();
}

function SetChaosEverywhere()
{
	local Ammo A;

	foreach AllActors (class'Ammo',A)
	{
		A.SetPhysics(PHYS_None);
		A.SetLocation(A.Location+vect(0,0,20));
	}
}
Perhaps it should improve what was doing Chaos. I'll bet that it do works as server-actor without to be in ServerPackages.

Re: ChaosUT issues

Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 3:07 am
by Barbie
papercoffee wrote:The Chaos decoration packages are:
[...]
chaostrees.u
I noticed that some trees have a Mesh with multiple sequences, what means they can be animated - but none of the trees has code for it.
Attached is a map with all trees of package "chaostrees.u" and additionally in a second line the MyLeveled animated versions of it.
<EDIT>
Replaced ChaosTrees.7z by ChaosTreesV2.7z. Only the map name has changed within the archive: ChaosTrees.unr ->ChaosTreesMap.unr
</EDIT>

Re: ChaosUT issues

Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:58 am
by sektor2111
Interesting... What did I miss ?
[attachment=0]TressOrPlants.PNG[/attachment]
Btw what did you do with your files ?
The rest it's just crashing XCGE at collision chapter... ringing @Higor's door...

Re: ChaosUT issues

Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:18 am
by Dr.Flay
Each plant has a static version and an animated one.
They animate when you bump or shoot them.

Re: ChaosUT issues

Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:33 am
by sektor2111
Yeah, having animations but bStatic ? In this sample I see custom types but I don't get why game is crashing by firing map. This is unusual and it does a collision crash... Meshes in void ?
Edit:
Oops, excuse me but... these decorations are not for me...
[attachment=0]Meshes_again.PNG[/attachment]
Let's say that I do a fake understanding about that moon3 without Net code (I don't know a single operational On-Line instance) but these "trees" are centered in crap, seriously this is dumber than I could dream about... Not only ammo are a mess, amazing stuff keeps going...
Dr.Flay wrote:They animate when you bump or shoot them.
If they have bCollideActors=false (as here) there is no bump or reaction at touching from any kind :lol2: . Inside them I did not see any any such code, perhaps projectiles are "pushing" them (if they will ever collide being "captured" by mod) ?