Create a new gametype

Discussions about GameTypes
Damien
Novice

Create a new gametype

Post by Damien »

Hi guys.

I know, I'm only making stupid questions, but I need your help. I'm studying C++ and C# as a student (I'm 22, anyway), and I saw some lines of code from custom mutators and mods.

I want to make a new gametype, but I don't know where to start. I know there must be at least two files (.int and .u), but I can't find a single tutorial, just a "how to start". I know something, and I will learn more looking at source code, but I really don't know how to start.

If someone of you can redirect me to something... it would be really appreciated.
Feralidragon
Godlike
Personal rank: Work In Progress

Re: Create a new gametype

Post by Feralidragon »

UnrealScript, start here: http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/UnrealScript

Gametype specific, I don't know any to be honest.
Damien
Novice

Post by Damien »

Thanks, I saw the Wiki time ago ;)
It's an useful source, but there isn't the thing I'm looking for...

Hell, how do you guys learn all the stuff?! I'm gonna download the source code and look at it...

If anyone has other links, please post here, thanks.
Feralidragon
Godlike

Post by Feralidragon »

Well, generally speaking, we learned most of it by actually looking at was already done (the source code, standard weapons, standard gametypes, etc) since there isn't really a good "how to do this?" documentation about UT stuff, if any at all about many subjects, and the other bits we either come up by ourselves or learn from each others, this is the beauty of a community and how so much can be developed even nowadays.

One of these days I will try to do a couple of "to the point with actual material" tutorials in many subjects related to UT modding (weapons, replication, etc), but until that day... :\
Damien
Novice

Post by Damien »

Yeah, I imaginated that.